On Saturday, December 16, 2017, the North Pocono High School Science Olympiad Team split up and competed as three separate teams at the Fayetteville-Manlius Science Olympiad Invitational in Manlius, NY.

This was North Pocono’s second trip to this invitational.

The North Pocono team competed against 31 other teams from about 16 schools that spread across 4 states. North Pocono was proud to return home with high ranks for all three teams. The team earned medals in following events.

North Pocono Team Results

1st place – Game On – Davie Alunni and James Docalovich

2nd place – Mousetrap – Michael Smith and Sam Chindemi

3rd place – Mission Possible – Emily Leggiero and Alex Trinovitch

4th place – Dynamic Planet – Sara Wojnar and Kolby Tonkin

4th place – Helicopters – Sam Chindemi and Catherine Clancy

5th place – Game On – Tim Pickarski and Keegan Napolitano

5th place – Hovercraft – Lilianna Ruby and Faith Alunni

6th place – Disease Detectives – Faith Alunni and Shawnna Lamond

6th place – Fermi – John Slater and Ryan Ephault

6th place – Game on: Nikhil Patel and Michael Smith

6th place – Microbe Mission – Shawnna Lamond and Ryan Ephault

6th place – Towers – Catherine Clancy and Nikhil Patel.

Science Olympiad competitions are like academic track meets, consisting of a series of 23 team events.

The events that students compete in include a cross section of biology, physics, chemistry, earth space science, and engineering. Students engage in hands-on, interactive, inquiry-based activities that are lab-based, research-based, or pre-built. Each year, a portion of the events are rotated to reflect the ever-changing nature of science and technology.

By combining events from all disciplines, Science Olympiad encourages a wide cross-section of students to get involved. Emphasis is placed on active, hands-on group participation.

During the course of the competition, students are required to complete a lab, research, or compete with their engineered device within a 50 minute period.

Students will typically compete in 3-4 events during the day.

In each of the 23 events, teams are evaluated by judges on how well they complete the tasks based on the rules set forth by the national committee for each event.

Members of the team are:

David Alunni, Faith Alunni, Jimmy Bianchi, Kaili Brooks, Amanda Brundage, Sam Chindemi, Catherine Clancy, James Docalovich, Sabrina Dombek, Dana Dougherty, Greg Duggan, Ryan Ephault, Kenneth Gaughan, Amber Goffredo, Stephen Hineline, Kelsey Kline, Jack Krehely, Jared Krehely, Shawnna Lamond, Emily Leggiero, Madeline Leggiero, Danielle McNutt, Brice Morman, Dustin Moss, Keegan Napolitano, Elizabeth Nemitz, Timothy Pickarski, Macenzie Powell, Kathryn Purcell, Haley Rinker, Emily Rouse, Lilianna Ruby, John Slater, Adrianna Smith, Michael Smith, Kolby Tonkin, Alex Trinovitch, Kelley Troutman, Sara Wojnar, Eric Wolfe.

The team is coached by Lindsay Croom. Assistant coaches are J Croom, Doug Mallas, and Kara Stanton.
Nathan Jones and Dawne Scheller are event mentors.