North Pocono Graduate Named to Spring Dean's List at Susquehanna

SELINSGROVE — Victoria Dunn, of Covington Township, was named to Susquehanna University's dean's list for the spring 2017 semester.

The dean's list recognizes students who achieve a grade point average of 3.4 or higher out of a possible 4.0 for the semester. To qualify, students must complete a minimum of 12 semester hours.

Dunn is an English- secondary education major in the Class of 2020. A 2016 graduate of North Pocono High School, she is the daughter of James and Christina Dunn.

Susquehanna University is a selective, residential liberal arts college that provides a solid background in the liberal arts and sciences, as well as professional experiences.


University of Scranton


The University of Scranton conferred more than 600 master’s and doctoral degrees, including its first Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) degrees, at its graduate commencement ceremony on May 27 in the Byron Recreation Complex.

The University also conferred more than 800 bachelor’s and associate’s degrees at its undergraduate commencement on May 28 at the Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza in Wilkes-Barre.

Graduates recognized at the ceremonies include those who completed their degree requirements in August and December of 2016, as well as January and May of 2017.

Graduates represented more than 30 states, Washington, D.C., and several foreign countries, including Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, North Carolina, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Oregon, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and Washington, among others.

The master’s degree programs with the most graduates were the master of business administration, occupational therapy, educational administration, curriculum and instruction and human resources.

Undergraduate majors with the most graduates are nursing, exercise science, biology, occupational therapy and accounting. The class also included the recipient of a prestigious Fulbright scholarship, which is the U.S. government’s premier scholarship program for overseas graduate study, research and teaching. Albena Ivova Gesheva of Scranton won a Fulbright award to Germany.

James Martin, S.J., New York Times best-selling author and editor-at-large of America magazine, served as principal speaker at the undergraduate ceremony.

He received an honorary degree at the ceremony, as did University of Scranton Professor Emerita Ellen Miller Casey, Ph.D. Kathleen Curry Santora, Esq. ’80, president and chief executive officer of the National Association of College and University Attorneys (NACUA), served as the principal speaker at the graduate commencement ceremony. She also received an honorary degree from the University.

The University also introduced a new tradition at the ceremony inspired by a long-standing practice in the military used to signify unit membership and affiliation. Graduates were presented with Coins of Excellence by Scranton’s Alumni Society.

The coins are meant to encourage graduates to follow the Jesuit tradition to be “men and women for and with others” and “to go forth and set the world on fire” and solidify their affiliation with the University.

University of Scranton President Kevin P. Quinn, S.J., addressed the graduates and their guests at both ceremonies for the last time as the president of The University of Scranton.

His term as Scranton’s 25th president ended on June 1.

An archived recording of the ceremonies can be seen at
Local degree recipients are as follows (alphabetical order by degree and county).

Master’s Degree:
Lackawanna County:

Perry D. Cross, Jefferson Township; Kathryn Morgan Paradise, Roaring Brook Township; and Elizabeth A. Walsh, Roaring Brook Township.

Laura E. Wendt, Jefferson Township.

Bachelor’s Degree:
Lackawanna County:

Alison Tara DePew, Moscow; Alexander Charles Gardner, Moscow; Kaitlin L. Hemmler, Moscow; Shannon Ariel Keegan, Moscow; Thomas Joseph Meehan, Jr., Elmhurst Township; Kevin Joseph Nardella, Spring Brook Township; Emily Jo Pocius, Moscow; and Charlette Michelle Woelkers, Moscow.

Nicole Marie O'Malley, Jefferson Township; Steven A. Picozzo, Covington Township; Nicholas V. Russoniello, Jefferson Township; David Yatsonsky II, Jefferson Township.

Associate's Degree:

Jon Paul Ross, Covington Township.